By Way of Introduction

I am a simple man.

I am pretty uncomplicated, not a picky eater, nor do I complain much.

I am content. I am ordinary.

I was asked to write a basic introduction into who I am and how I see things and more importantly why I see things the way I do. These three opening lines above pretty much explain it. I am simple in that I do not like things being more complicated than they need to be. It is one of the attributes that attracted me to the ministry when I first was approached by a mentor into thinking seriously about my future calling. This is obviously not meant to say that the ministry cannot be full of nuance and challenges which create the need to attack problems on multiple fronts. Simple does not mean black and white, but it does mean that the myriad of issues that one can be confronted with in the ministry therefore then need a myriad of answers. An electrical box can be complicated or it can be simple. A complicated box does not work correctly. A simple box, despite being full of dozens of wires, works efficiently and as designed. This is why I see the ministry as simple. It is because we serve a simple God. He is not complicated. One need not have a wall length flowchart with arrows and boxes going every which way to understand how God works. He is the Creator, I am the creature. He is all-sufficient, I am all-needing. As an example: Why do I love the Regulative Principle? Because God knows better how He is to be worshiped than I do. Deuteronomy 12:32 is a liberating and life-giving passage. Why do I love the Sabbath Day? Because the Creator of the Heavens and the Earth in creation has laid forth a basic pattern of 1 in 7 by which I can rest from my worldly labors. It is simple, uncomplicated. God gave the Sabbath for man, to be blessed by it. Why do I love the Psalms? Again, they are simple, uncomplicated. In them are the completeness of man’s needs before God. God has blessedly provided for His people in the sufficiency of His revelation to us a recording of all the trials, tribulations, joys, concerns, and thanksgivings of the Christian life. There truly is nothing new under the sun. Why do I love being a Presbyterian? Because our ecclesiology understands the weight and depth of sin. It acknowledges that men need accountability in Christian brotherhood and equality. Ministers are not called to exercise authority over Ruling Elders, but to dwell in unity with our fellow officers in Christ’s Church. This is an outward expression of the inward reality of Gal. 3:28.

I write all this again for the purpose of introduction. I am content, not just because Philippians 4 calls me to it, but since having known the complexity of liberalism and unbelief I am refreshed every day through the reading of the Word, private prayer, and family worship that I stand at peace in the undeserved righteousness of Jesus Christ. It never ceases to bring me to my knees and causes me to stand in awe and in the depths of humility that this Creator has called me from the foundation of the world to be His.

2 thoughts on “By Way of Introduction

  1. Pingback: Great New Blog | Southern Reformation

  2. “Why do I love the Psalms? Again, they are simple, uncomplicated. In them are the completeness of man’s needs before God. God has blessedly provided for His people in the sufficiency of His revelation to us a recording of all the trials, tribulations, joys, concerns, and thanksgivings of the Christian life. There truly is nothing new under the sun.”

    AMEN!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

